Earthbag Building: A Small Earthbag Dome

Below is the link to a step-by-step description of how Kelly Hart’s first experimental earthbag dome was created. The interior diameter is 14 feet 4.3 meters.

This prototype dome could serve as a model for emergency shelters, cabins, studios, garden sheds, etc. It should work well in earthquake-prone areas and places subject to flooding, winds, and hurricanes. It could be used as quick housing for people made homeless by natural disasters, such as in Pakistan, Turkey, Iran, Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka, and El Salvador.

via Earthbag Building: A Small Earthbag Dome.

As I was reading through this I was constantly reminded that anyone could do this just about anywhere. I am working on finding some land here in Amarillo TX to build something like this on and will post pics when I get going on it. If you try something please leave a comment and or send me an email also I love pictures.

Seth – Green Ideas Coop

About Seth
I Live in a 1977 Dodge Jamboree 2 with my wife and dog. I build and maintain web sites for a couple of internet companies.

One Response to Earthbag Building: A Small Earthbag Dome

  1. Pingback: Wind Testing of Earthbag Wall « Earthbag Building Blog « Green Ideas Co-op

Leave a Reply

